h1

Christmas Gifts – Edgy Laptop bags for guys…and girls

December 3, 2008

The month of Christmas is here and as I’m busy busy busy I’m trying to shop exclusively for gifts online. Don’t get me wrong, I *love* wandering around the likes of Camden lock at Christmas or visiting Christmas markets, but fighting my way through bargain-hungry crowds, the like who take no prisoners, on a grey and miserable winters eve is most definitely not my idea of fun.vaja-bag

However, a couple of days in and things are going as smoothly as I had hoped! I’ve decided that a funky laptop bag is the perfect gift for my geeky boyfriend, and actually there are a lot to choose from online. The problem I’m having is that few seem to marry style and geek-chic functionality. They either remind me of bulky bags once donned in early teenhood, or are way too business-slick. Girls on the other hand are spoilt for choice!! There are so many different styles! Fun, retro, sophisticated designer, all of which appeal!!

Why is it that the guys selection is proving sooo much more difficult!?


One bag which I think would be perfect for my boy is the custom-build Vaja, with bright swatches of colour, edgy-style, and high quality workmanship. $600 however!? Absolutely not possible!! Not in this day and age!

maddie-powers

Internet shopping was supposed to be the smart option! Any suggestions gratefully received! However in the meantime, jump over to mynameiskate ‘s laptop bag reviews and maddiepowers– very cool bags for girls if you’re in the market!

3 comments

  1. Hi, Stella!

    Thanks so much for the shout-out about my lens 🙂 I LOVE fun laptop bags. The Maddie Powers are some of my favourite!

    You’re right about the guys bags – they are harder to find – that mix of style and functionality. I actually started a page about them as well; a number of people requested it. http://www.squidoo.com/laptop-bags-for-men though it’s still quite new and doesn’t have a lot of reviews yet.

    The Vaja’s are great bags. Something else to consider are Porter’s William Gibson collection which is ridiculously expensive – http://www.coolhunting.com/archives/2008/10/head_porter_x_b.php MobileEdge also has some bags for me. Depending on how quirky your guy is – there are even Maddie Powers for men 🙂 http://www.mobileedge.com/mens-laptop-bags/maddie-powers-laptop-bags

    Good luck and happy holidays!


  2. Thanks alot for the advice Kate, checking out those links now!! 🙂


  3. Since posting this I have come across a site selling V cool and very durable leather saddle bags http://www.saddlebackleather.net/store/scripts/prodList.asp?idCategory=19
    still a little pricey but alot better than the Vaja

    Enjoy

    X



Leave a Reply

